Email: kgriffin2@unl.edu

Website: http://www.unl.edu/facultysenate/

# UNL FACULTY SENATE MEETING MINUTES April 26, 2016 City Campus Union, Auditorium

# Presidents Woodman, Purcell, Bender Presiding

## 1.0 Call to Order

President Bender called the meeting to order at 2:39 P.M.

## 2.0 Announcements

## 2.1 Announcement of New Senators

President Bender welcomed the following new Senators: David Harwood, Earth & Atmospheric Sciences and Brenda Aufdenkamp, West Central Research & Extension Center.

# 3.0 Elections to Executive Committee

## 3.1 President-Elect Election

President Bender noted that Professor Purcell, Southeast Research & Extension Center, was running unopposed and asked for a motion to declare her as President Elect by acclimation. Professor Hanrahan, Glenn Korff School of Music, made a motion to approve by acclimation. Motion seconded by Professor Lee, Communication Studies. Motion approved by the Faculty Senate.

# 3.2 Secretary Election

President Bender noted that Professor Reisbig, Child, Youth & Family Studies, was running unopposed and asked for a motion to declare her as Secretary by acclimation. Professor Joeckel, School of Natural Resources, made a motion to approve by acclimation. Motion seconded by Professor Vakilzadian, Electrical & Computer Engineering. Motion approved by the Faculty Senate.

## 3.3 Election of Executive Committee Members

President Bender asked Senators to vote for three out of four candidates running for the Executive Committee. Professors Hanrahan and Leiter, Law, were elected. There was a tie between Professor Belli, Psychology and Professor Vakilzadian. President Bender asked Senators to vote again, this time for either Professor Belli or Professor Vakilzadian. Professor Vakilzadian was elected by the Senate.

# 3.4 Election of Extension Educator Executive Committee Member

President Bender pointed out that Professor Fech, Southeast Research & Extension Center, was running unopposed and asked for a motion to approve him by acclimation. Professor Joeckel moved for approval by acclimation. Motion seconded by Professor Purcell and approved by the Senate.

# 4.0 Approval of April 5, 2016 Minutes

Professor Joeckel moved that the minutes be approved. Motion seconded by Professor Leiter and approved by the Senate.

## 5.0 Unfinished Business

No unfinished business was discussed.

# 6.0 New Business

# **6.1 Presentation of the Louise Pound-George Howard Award for Distinguished Career Service** Professor Fran Kaye, English, was presented with the Louise Pound-George Howard Award. The presentation was followed by a reception to honor Professor Kaye.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:39 p.m. The next meeting of the Faculty Senate will be held on Tuesday, September 6, 2016, at 2:30 p.m. in the East Campus Union, Arbor Suite. The minutes are respectfully submitted by Karen Griffin, Coordinator, and Allison Reisbig, Secretary.